Experienced Royal face uphill task

S. Thomas’ was on top against traditional rivals Royal when play ended on day in the 141st Battle of the Blues big match played at the SSC ground. The Thomians after making a formidable score of 369 runs had their rivals struggling on 127 for 4.

The second day’s play saw the Thomians resuming from their overnight score of 272 for 6 being guided by overnight batsmen Gavin Botheju who was unbeaten on 42 and Maneesha Rupasinghe continuing to torment the Royal bowlers.

The pair posted their 50 runs partnership while Botheju raced to his half ton before they were separated with the dismissal of Rupasinghe with the score on 294 runs.

However the Thomians underwent a double as they lost two quick wickets for the addition of 16 runs that Yasiru Rodrigo and Botheju who made 54 which had five boundaries.

The last pair skipper Thevin Eriyagama and G. Caniston frustrated the Royal bowlers. The duo having posted their 50 runs partnership was able to add only another nine runs for a partnership of 59 runs before spinner Gishan Balasuriya made the breakthrough with the wicket of Eriyagama who made 47 runs.

Royal in their turn was given a sound start by openers Kawshan Kulasuriya and Kamil Mishara who together put on 61 runs before Kulasuriya fell victim to Kishan Munasinghe having made a knock of 31.

Mishara joined by Kavindu Chathuranga and having added 20 runs saw the former being sent back to the pavilion by Munasinghe. Ahan Wickramasinghe and Chathuranga were making steady progress and the pair succeeded to put up the 100 runs on the board for Royal.

The Royalists lost two quick wickets that of Chathuranga and Wickramasinghe before ending day two with a score of 127 for 4. Royal trailing by 242 runs will need a steady partnership when the last days play get underway today if they are to make any impression.

S. Thomas’ 1st innings (272/6 overnight)

Dilmin Ratnayake lbw b Pathiratne 23
Shalin de Mel c Kulasuriya b Senaratne 85
Ravindu de Silva st Madarasinghe b Balasuriya 06
Ryan Fernando lbw b Manchanayake 70
Kishan Munasinghe b Mishara 00
Gavin Botheju run out 54
Umayanga Suwaris c Pathiratne b Madusanka 21
Maneesha Rupasinghe run out 25
Yasiru Rodrigo lbw b Pathiratne 05
Thevin Eriyagama st Mishara b Balasuriya 47
F. Caniston not out 10
Extras (b15, lb2, nb1, w5) 23
Total (all out: 128.2 overs) 369
Fall of wickets – 1-49, 2-56, 3-156, 4-158, 5-208, 6-244, 7-294, 8-301, 9-310.
Bowling – Kavindu Pathiratne 32-6-85-2, Lahiru Madusanka 13.2-0-31-1, Thevindu Senaratne 14.4-1-52-1, Gishan Balasuriya 25.2-3-68-2, Prashan Kalhara 16-4-34-0, Kamil Mishara 21-4-55-1, Dasis Manchanayake 8-0-27-1.

Royal 1st innings
Kawshan Kulasuriya c de Mel b Munasinghe 31
Kamil Mishara c de Mel b Munasinghe 32
Kavindu Chathuranga c Botheju b Eriyagama 23
Ahan Wickramasinghe c Ratnayake b Caniston 24
Isiwara Dissanayake not out 06
Kavindu Pathiratne not out 00
Extras (b4, nb6, w1) 11
Total (4 wickets: 55 overs) 127
Fall of wickets – 1-61, 2-81, 30104, 4-123
Bowling – Yasiru Rodrigo 10-2-22-0, G. Caniston 7-2-12-1, Thevin Eriyagama 9-3-38-1, Kishan Munasinghe 19-6-38-2, Dilmin Ratnayake 9-0-32-0, Umayanga Suwaris 1-1-0-0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *