Four temp. Ministers appointed in place of six SLFPers

President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed four acting ministers to temporarily handle the Ministerial portfolios which were vacated by six Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Cabinet Ministers.

Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government Faiszer Musthapha was sworn in as the Minister of Sports which was vacated by Dayasiri Jayasekera.

Minister of Development Strategies and International Trade Malik Samarawickrema was appointed as the Minister of Social Empowerment, Welfare and Kandyan Heritage which was vacated by S.B. Dissanayake. He was also appointed as the Minister of Labour and Labour Relations, a portfolio previously held by W.D. John Seneviratne.

Minister of Power and Renewable Energy Ranjith Siyambalapitiya was sworn in as the Minister of Disaster Management, a portfolio formerly held by Anura Priyadarshana Yapa.

Minister of Special Assignments Dr. Sarath Amunugama was sworn in as the Minister of Skills Development and Vocational Training,which portfolio was previously held by MP Chandima Weerakkody. He was also appointed as the Minister of Science and Technology, a post which was vacated by Susil Premajayantha.

The 16 SLFP Members, who voted in favour of the No-Confidence Motion against the Prime Minister last week, withdrew from the Unity Government and indicated that they will remain as independent MPs in the Opposition.

Meanwhile, Co-Cabinet Spokesperson and Minister of Health Dr. Rajitha Senaratne said that the Cabinet reshuffle has been postponed and would take place after the Sinhala and Tamil New Year, amidst claims from the Government that it will take place, prior to the New Year.

He went on to note that the Cabinet will contain Members from the SLFP and that the Government will function as per the 2015 mandate as the Unity Government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *