JO moves no confidence motion against PM today

The Joint Opposition will move a no-faith motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe today in Parliament.Leader of the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya Udaya Gammanpila yesterday said that the draft of the no confidence motion against the Prime Minister had been completed.

He said some people asked whether it was against the Prime Minister or the government.

Gammanpila said when a no-confidence motion was brought against the Prime Minister it invariably becomes one against the goverment as well.

“When Prime Minister has to leave office the entire Cabinet will be dissolved and a new Prime Minister and a new Cabinet will be appointed,” he said.

Gammanpila said “The no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister consists of 14 charges and a consensus had been reached on them by the parties supporting it namely the Joint Opposition, SLFP and the UNP.

“We believe that the JVP and the TNA will look at the no-confidence motion from a nationalistic point of view and support it.

“At the outset we expected that the three parties will sign the no confidence motion and submit it, but the SLFP and the UNP are of the opinion that if they sign it now, they will be exposed and thus the Prime Minister will obtain time to debate it in parliament and will exert pressure on the parliamentarian who placed their signatures on it.

Prime Minister had adopted this tactic in the past when a no confidence motion was brought against him.

Hence yesterday we decided that if the members of other opposition parties were also supporting the no confidence motion along with the Joint Opposition and others, to obtain their signatures as well and hand it over.

“We plan is to get the UNP and SLFP MPs to sign the motion at the voting time, once the debate on it is over.

On February 10, 2018, 67 % people of this country endorsed a no confidence motion against the Prime Minister and the party he represents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *