Chamil and Roshita Champs

Sri Lanka Carrom Federation (CFSL) celebrated their Diamond Jubilee (60th Anniversary) and the finals of the 50th National Championship on 25 February at the Hilton Residence, Colombo.

Chamil Darshana Cooray of Seylan Bank won the National Championship for the 14th time beating former 2012 World Champion Nishantha Fernando of SL Navy 2-1 (25/19, 15/25, 25/21), while Joseph Roshita of SL Navy won the National Championship for the 6th time beating Yashika Rahubaddha of SL Air Force 2/0 (25/0, 25/21).

Chamil Darshana Cooray won a double crown when he also won the Mixed Doubles partnering Thashmila Kavindi.
National Championship commenced on 27 January and concluded on 25 February. There were 6 categories – Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles, Men’s Doubles, Women’s Doubles, Mixed Doubles, and Veteran Singles. Over 350 players island wide participated in the tournament. Preliminary rounds were conducted at the Headquarters of the Carrom Federation, Kohuwela and the semi-final and finals were held at Hilton Residence, Colombo.

The awards ceremony was held under the patronage of Pujith Jayasundara, Inspector General of Police and Josef Meyer, President of International Carrom Federation. The National Champions were awarded Rs. 100,000 each and altogether Rs. 400,000 was awarded for all event winners for the first time ever in the history of carrom.

A significant feature of the championship was that as much as 18 slams (15 white and 3 black) were achieved – 3 by Nishantha Fernando, 2 each by Chamil Cooray, Anas Ahamed and 1 each by Avon Wickramasinghe, K.G.S.J. Prasad, Ajith Chandrasoma, Nalin Jayashantha1, Prabath Yatawara, Shaheed Hilmy, Prameda Mendis, Dammika Rohana, H .Prabath, Pramod Ashendra and Yashika Rahubaddha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *