LNP – Royal, Richmond take unassailable leads, Pawan powers Devapathiraja

Under-19 Cricket

Royal College, Colombo and Richmond, Galle took unassailable leads in their respective groups when they emerged victorious in the Under-19 Division I Tier ‘A’ matches played on Saturday.

Royal scored their fourth consecutive win with 65 runs victory over Wesley as Isiwara Dissanayake scored an unbeaten century to guide them to 258 runs.

With that win Royal cemented their position as the leaders in their group also inclusive of Trinity, Gurukula, DSS and De Mazenod. They all have one match remaining but Trinity is the current runner up with three wins against their name.

Richmond remain unbeaten after four outings in Group ‘Z’. The battle for the second place in the group will be between St. Anthony’s, Kandy and Prince of Wales. That latter scored a crucial win over Nalanda to remain in contention.

In an notable turn of events Vinuja Ranpul scored a century for Nalanda against his former school, but Cambrians were the ultimate winners.

A blistering knock of 138 by Pawan Sandesh was the highlight in Tier ‘B’ matches as Devapathiraja beat Dharmasoka by 18 runs. Sandesh, who is among the consistent batsmen in the Division I tournament hammered 11 sixes and 14 fours in his knock. His 138 runs came in just 73 balls.


Tier ‘A’

Royal beat Wesley at Reid Avenue


258 for 4 in 50 overs (Isiwara Dissanayake 107n.o., Sadisha Rajapakshe 44, Ahan Wickramasinghe 40, Kavidu Pathirathna 25; Anudith Wickramasinghe 2/16)


193 all out in 45 overs (Sahil Dias 46, Sidath Dharmasiriwardena 28, Thenuka Perera 31. Kushan Chamalka 22; Sonal Amarasekara 2/37, Sadisha Rajapakshe 2/18, Prashan Kalhara 2/38)

Cambrians beat Nalanda at Campbell Place


211 for 9 in 50 overs (Vinuja Ranpul 119n.o.; Pasindu Pathum 2/44, Ashan Fernando 2/20, Achala Perera 3/49)

Prince of Wales

212 for 7 in 49.3 overs (Omesh Mendis 39, Dinura Fernando 46, Anupa Bandara 59n.o.; Lisura Sigera 2/36, Sajitha Vithanage 2/33, Raveen de Silva 2/36)

Richmond beat Maliyadeva at Galle


116 all out in 36.3 overs (Matheesha Weerasinghe 34; Kavindu Nirmana 2/14, Nalaka Jayawardan 4/27)


117 for 3 in 32.3 overs (Vishara Fernando 42, Bhanuka Manohara 33n.o.; Sakindu Wijerathne 2/26)

Tier ‘B’

Devapathiraja beat Dharmasoka at Ambalangoda


248 all out in 49.4 overs (Dinitha Prabanka 20, Pawan Sandesh 138, Darshaka Sandeepa 27; Imanthaka Rajapaksha 2/35, Lohan de Zoysa 3/42, Sahan Sankalpa 2/31)


230 all out in 44.2 overs (Kaveen Samarahewa 41, Imanthaka Rajapaksa 86, Naveen Rasanga 41; Sudheera Weerarathne 4/36)

Zahira beat Dharmapala at Maradana


143 all out in 47.1 overs (Bavindu Chamod 32, Kavinda Nishan 32; Rilwan Yoosuf 3/38, Ishan Ruhaim 2/17, Naleem Zeith 3/17)


145 for 4 in 24.4 overs (Raaed Rizwan 52, Naleem Zeith 42n.o.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *