Five top SLFP MPs face party rap

Five dissident SLFP national list MPs have been served with show-cause letters and have been given seven days to respond, Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) General Secretary MP Dayasiri Jayasekara said.

Jayasekara told the regular SLFP news briefing at the party headquarters yesterday that SLFP National list MPs S.B.Dissanayake, Dilan Perera, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardane, A.H.M.Fowzie and Vijith Vijayamuni Soysa who joined the SLPP and UNP have been served ‘show cause’ disciplinary action letters.

“The MPs have been given seven days to provide a written reply pertaining to the allegations mentioned in the show-cause letter and they can also make a request if they need more time to respond. But the entire procedure should be concluded within a month,” he stressed.

Jayasekara said the SLFP was a political party that maintains strict party discipline and such disciplining is what grassroots level supporters expected from them.

He further said that under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, the party membership of an MP who joined another party can be suspended.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *