Rabada, Shamsi set up South Africa’s five-wicket win

DAMBULLA, Sri Lanka, July 29 (Reuters) – Fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada and spinner Tabraiz Shamsi picked up four wickets each to set up South Africa’s five-wicket victory against Sri Lanka in the first one-day international at Dambulla on Sunday.

Rabada, who took 4-41, inflicted the early damage while left-arm spinner Shamsi provided the late breakthroughs with his 4-33 as South Africa bundled out Sri Lanka for 193 under 35 overs after the hosts won the toss and opted to bat.

Off-spinner Akila Dananjaya picked up two early wickets to give Sri Lanka hope but the touring side, who were mauled 2-0 in the test series, recovered to reach the target in 31 overs and take a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

Opener Quinton de Kock and captain Faf du Plessis hit identical 47s to steady South Africa’s chase during a 86-run stand for the third wicket before the wicketkeeper-batsman became Dananjaya’s third victim.

It was left to JP Duminy to take South Africa home with an unbeaten 53 off 32 deliveries.

Earlier, Kusal Perera hit a 72-ball 81 to provide some respectability to Sri Lanka’s innings after the hosts were reduced to 36-5 in the face of a devastating opening spell from Rabada.

Kusal and Thisara Perera, who made 49, added 92 for the sixth wicket during a counter-attacking partnership before Shamsi separated them by dismissing the latter, caught behind to wicketkeeper de Kock.

Shamsi also dismissed Kusal, who was out caught trying to play a reverse sweep, after an entertaining innings that included 11 fours and a six.

The second match of the series will be played at the same venue on Wednesday.


Sri Lanka

Niroshan Dickwella  c Tabraiz Shamsi b Kagiso Rabada               2

Upul Tharanga       Run Out JP Duminy                             10

Kusal Mendis        c Quinton de Kock b Kagiso Rabada              3

Kusal Perera        c David Miller b Tabraiz Shamsi               81

Angelo Mathews      c Hashim Amla b Lungi Ngidi                    5

Shehan Jayasuriya   c Quinton de Kock b Kagiso Rabada              0

Thisara Perera      c Quinton de Kock b Tabraiz Shamsi            49

Akila Dananjaya     b Tabraiz Shamsi                              11

Suranga Lakmal      c Quinton de Kock b Kagiso Rabada              5

Lakshan Sandakan    Not Out                                        5

Lahiru Kumara       st Quinton de Kock b Tabraiz Shamsi            3

Extras              0b 4lb 2nb 0pen 13w                           19

Total               (34.3 overs)                         193 all out

Fall of Wickets : 1-2 Dickwella, 2-11 Mendis, 3-22 Tharanga, 4-35 Mathews, 5-36 Jayasuriya, 6-128 Perera, 7-166 Perera, 8-179 Perera, 9-189 Lakmal, 10-193 Kumara

Bowling- Kagiso Rabada         8- 0-41-4 , Lungi Ngidi           8-1-29-1, Willem Mulder         3-0-34-0,  Andile Phehlukwayo    3-0 -30-0, Tabraiz Shamsi      8.3-0-33-4,  JP Duminy             4-0-22-0

South Africa 

 Hashim Amla      b Akila Dananjaya                       19

 Quinton de Kock  c Suranga Lakmal b Akila Dananjaya      47

 Aiden Markram    lbw Akila Dananjaya                      0

 Faf du Plessis   c Angelo Mathews b Lakshan Sandakan     47

 JP Duminy        Not Out                                 53

 David Miller     lbw Suranga Lakmal                      10

 Willem Mulder    Not Out                                 14

 Extras           0b 1lb 0nb 0pen 5w                       6

 Total            (31.0 overs)                         196-5

Fall of Wickets : 1-31 Amla, 2-31 Markram, 3-117 de Kock, 4-129 du Plessis, 5-172 Miller

Did Not Bat : Phehlukwayo, Rabada, Shamsi, Ngidi

Bowling:  Akila Dananjaya    10-0-50-3, Suranga Lakmal      6-0-37-1, Shehan Jayasuriya   4-0-23-  Kumara       3-0-11-0,  Lakshan Sandakan    8-0-74-1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *