Exciting sprints, triple title winners decorate day three

All Island Schools Games – Athletics Championship 2017

article_imageShehan Kariyawasam (right) won the Under-18 boys’ 110 metres hurdles with comprehensive ease. (Pix by Nishan S. Priyantha)

Pasindu Bawantha won the Under-20 boys javelin throw. His twin brother, Anura Dharshana was the winner of the Under-20 boys 400 metres and the silver medalist in the 200 metres.

A.S.M. Safan (1159) of Anbukkagama Muslim M.V. Nikaweratiya stunned favourite Anura Dharshana (250) of Weera Keppetipola NS, Akuramboda to win the Under-20 boys 200 metres.

Stunning sprint performances in the 200 metres and 16-year-olds winning triple titles contributed to an exciting third day, despite wet weather and nearly worn-out track causing injuries to many athletes at the All Island Schools Games- Athletics Championship at Diyagama.

The Under-20 boys 200 metres produced probably the most exciting prospects of the day as A.S.M. Safan of Anbukkagama Muslim M.V, Nikaweratiya stunned favourite Anura Dharshana of Weera Keppetipola NS, Akuramboda to win in an impressive time of 21.61 seconds. Dharshana, this year’s Junior National champion clocked 21.63 seconds. K.S. Perera of Nalanda (21.69 secs) and Chanuka Sandeepa (21.99 secs) of Maris Stella who were placed third and fourth respectively too clocked impressive times.

Milinda Perera of St. Mary’s College, Chilaw won his third sprint title as he clocked 22.77 seconds to win the Under-16 boys’ 200 metres. He was also the winner of the 100 and 400 metres of his age category.

Gateway College, Rajagiriya sprinter Sadeepa Henderson was the other athlete to win three titles as she clocked 25.9 seconds to win the Under-16 girls’ 200 metres. Earlier on day one and two she won the long jump and 100 metres.

Amasha de Silva of Swarnamali Girls College, Kandy turned tables on favourite Yamani Dulanjali to win the Under-20 girls’ 200 metres. She clocked 24.77 seconds, while Dulanjali returned a time of 24.97 seconds. Shermila Jans of Gateway finished third.

Tharaka Divyanjali of Lyceum International, Wattala clocked 25.57 seconds to win the Under-18 girls 200 metres. Ewanthi Emeshika of St Mary’s, Matara was second (25.60secs). Sendaru Perera of Musaeus clocked 25.75 seconds to be placed third.

St. Mary’s, Kegalle athlete Chamod Yodasinghe clocked 2.07 seconds to win the Under-18 boys 200 metres title.


High jumper turned hurdler Roshan Dhammika Ranatunga of Kularatne MMV won the Under-20 boys 110 metres hurdles comprehensively as he clocked 14.35 seconds. The second fastest was Evin Viranjith of Nalanda who returned a time of 15.37 seconds.

St. Joseph’s College, Darley Road hurdler Shehan Kariyawasam registered an impressive 13.91 seconds feat to win in the Under-18 boys’ 110 metres hurdles as he led from the fourth hurdle to win well above others. His was the only sub 14 seconds finish.

Senuri Anuththara of Dharmapala Vidyalaya, Pannipitiya clocked 15.16 seconds to win the Under-16 girls’ 100 metres hurdles. Bhagya Nilmini of Viharagala MV, Sooriyawewa finished second in a time of 15.30 seconds. They were the only athletes to clock sub 16 seconds.

Under-14 boys’ 80m hurdles was won by S.N.P. Hewage of Royal MV, Horana (12.5secs) as Nadiv Dulnith (Rahula, Matara), who was leading fell at the last hurdle.

The corresponding girls’ event was won by S.D. Kahangama of Sumana Balika (12.71 secs). The event was dominated by athletes of Sabaragamuwa with C.D. Vijayakumara of Kularatne MMV and G.A. Sathsarani also of Sumana Balika sharing the second and third positions respectively.

Sumana Balika also won the first place and second runner up positions in the Under-20 girls’ 100 metres hurdles with P.R. Gunathilaka (15.53 secs) and D.A. Umayangana sharing those two places between them. P.M. Gayani of St. Mary’s Convent, Matara was placed second.

In the Under-16 boys’ 100 metres hurdles Anuradha Srimal of Berrewaerts College, Kandy was a cut above the rest as he maintained a clear lead over the others from the fourth hurdle to win in a time of 13.40 seconds.

The Under-18 girls 100 metres hurdles was won by A.D. Kaushalya of St. Andrew’s Balika, Nawalapitiya

Twins of Weera Keppetipola

NS shine again -The twins of Weera Keppetipola NS, Akuramboda once again excelled as both won podium positions on day two. Pasindu Bawantha hurled the javelin to a distance of 57.12 metres to win the Under-20 boys’ event. His closest rival Pragathi Prasanna of St. Benedict’s threw a distance of 56.90 metres. While Bawantha reigned supreme in field events, his twin brother added the 200 metres silver medal to his 400 metres gold.

P.B.I.N. Pallegama of Ibbagamuwa Central cleared 1.57 metres to win the Under-16 girls high jump.

De Mazenod College’s Sihina Sithumina turned tables on Junior National Championship Hashen Mendis Abeysekara of Sidhartha College, Balapitiya in the Under-16 Boys long jump as he cleared 6.67 metres to win. Hashen too produced a better performance than his Junior national feat when he cleared 6.61 metres.

Jaffna dominate pole vault -Athletes from Jaffna dominated Under-18 boys pole vault as A. Puvitharan of Chavakachcheri Hindu College (4.50 m), R. Jathushan of Arunothaya College (4.00m) and K. Kethusan of Mahajana College (3.90m) shared all three podium places.

Naveen Wishwajith of St. Joseph’s College, Darley Road was the only athlete to throw beyond the 13 metrs mark in the Under-14 shot putt. He threw a distance of 13.55 metres. Eastern Province athlete P. Kukenthiran’s best throw fell just one centimeter short of the 13 metres mark to be placed second (12.99 metres)

Ridma Nishadi of Dharmasoka College, Ambalangoda was below her personal best but her 5.85 metres jump was enough to win the Under-20 girls long jump.

Thushmina Krishmal of St. Mary’s, Chilaw won the Under-16 boys javelin throw with a feat of 60.08 metres. His winning throw was over five metres better than that of the second placed Lakmal Jayaratne’s best throw (54.50m).

Emesha Piyumali of Homagama Central cleared a height of 1.45 metres to win the Under-14 girls high jump.

Avishka Shenali of Mudalindu Devid Mendis MV, Negombo won the Under-18 girls discus throw with a feat of 33.39 metres.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *