Zimbabwe win toss and elect to field

Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to field first against Sri Lanka in the first One-Day International at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota.

The series is level at 2-2 as the two teams face each other for the grand finale.

Zimbabwe snatched an important victory in a rain-affected match, chasing a watered down score of 219. Sri Lanka batted well to post 300, and took wickets at regular intervals. However, they failed to stop Craig Ervine from guiding his team to the finish line.

Both teams have largely been plagued by the same problem this entire series, their bowling. The series stands tied at 2-2, and bar any rain, only one of them can clinch a series victory come game five.


Sri Lanka

Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews(c), Niroshan Dickwella(w), Asela Gunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanidu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Malinga, Amila Aponso


Solomon Mire, Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Tarisai Musakanda, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams, Graeme Cremer(c), Peter Moor(w), Sikandar Raza, Chamu Chibhabha, Ryan Burl, Chris Mpofu, Tendai Chatara, Donald Tiripano, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava


Current Score

zim in sri lankan news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *