Chemistry Nobel Prize awarded for imaging molecules

The Nobel Prize in chemistry has been awarded to Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson for imaging biological molecules.

They developed a technique called cryo-electron microscopy, which simplifies the process for looking at the building blocks of biology.

The process makes it possible for biomolecules to be frozen very fast, allowing their natural shape to be preserved.

The winners join a prestigious list of 175 other Chemistry laureates recognised since 1901. They were named at a press conference in Sweden.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *