8 including Namal Rajapaksa released on bail

Eight persons including United People’s Freedom Alliance Parliamentarian Namal Rajapaksa arrested for violating a restraining order have been released on bail.

Parliamentarian DV Chanaka, Provincial Councillor Sampath Athukorale and five protesters who engaged in the protest were released by the Hambantota Magistrate’s Court.

The eight were released on three surety bail of 500,000 rupees each. Thirty one others were further remanded till the 30th of October.

The protest was staged on the 6th of this month while the suspects were arrested and remanded on charged of illegal assembly, damaging state property, causing bodily harm to police officers, obstructing police duties and breaching a Court order.

Parliamentarian Prasanna Ranaweera and Provincial Councillor Upali Kodikara are among those further remanded.

A total of 39 persons including the Parliamentarians and Provincial Councillors were arrested over the Hambantota unrest.

The protest was held in Hambantota demanding the government to suspend alleged attempts to sell state resources following which a tense situation was reported when police attempted to disperse the protesters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *