Chathurdika new long jump champion

National Athletics Championship

1709453708DI P19 1 08 re kwk 3 in sri lankan newsChathurdika Thilakarathne won her maiden long jump title with a leap of 5.93metres.

There were hardly any upsets on day one except for Sri Lanka Air Force jumper Chathurdika Thilakarathne winning the women’s long jump, in the absence of a couple of leading contenders, at the 95th National Athletics Championship at Diyagama on Thursday.

A leap of 5.93 metres was enough for Thilakarathne to bag her first National title in a competition that featured only four jumpers. The event did not see defending champion Sarangi Silva who cleared six metres last year.

Thilakarathne was however given a tight competition by Anjani Pulwansa who was beaten to the second place by just a centimeter.

Ayesha Maduwanthi took the better of her Air Force team-mate Sonali Kumari Weerasekara with a throw of 41.67 metres to win the women’s discus throw. She edged out Weerasekara by 17 centimetres.


In the corresponding men’s event, Gayan Jayawardena was the only athlete to clear the 50 metres mark. He took gold with a throw of 50.77 metres.

While defending champion Nilani Ratnayake won the women’s 3000 metres steeplechase, the official result of the event was not available until this edition went to press.

The contest between Anusha Lamahewa and Lanka Ariyadasa continued in the women’s 10,000 metres. Lamahewa took gold in a time of 36:02.56 seconds. Ariyadasa returned a time of 36:02.82 seconds to settle for the silver. It was the other way around last year when Ariyadasa won ahead of Lamahewa.

Results –

Women’s Discus Throw:

1. Ayesha Maduwanthi (Air Force) 41.67 m, 2. Kumari Weerasekara (Air Force) 41.50m, 3. AGVV Lakmali (Air Force) 39.04m.

Men’s Discus Throw:

1. Gayan Jayawardena (Navy) 50.77m, 2. ZTM Aasik (Army) 42.48m, 3. HMPGDB Rathnayake (Air Force) 41.32m.

Women’s 10,000m:

1. Anusha Lamahewa (Navy) 36:02.56 secs, 2. Lanka Ariyadasa (Air Force) 36:02.82 secs, 3. MSPM Perera (Navy) 36:56.58 secs.

Women’s Long Jump:

1. Chathurdika Thilakarathne (Air Force) 5.93m, 2. Anjani Pulwansa (Unattached) 5.92m, 3. PVRS Dilanki (Army) 5.43m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *