JVP bound by UPFA manifesto to pursue a political solution - Mangala

  • 17 Feb 2007 06:48:39 GMT

    [However, Mr. Samaraweera defended his position on the grounds that whatever the JVP may say, it is bound by the UPFA manifesto of 2004, which envisages a political solution,..]

    asking JVP a political solution is like `Ibbagen pihatu gannawa wage wadek`

  • 18 Feb 2007 01:06:05 GMT

    Very interesting link on Sunday times. Whlile most ministers have one or two departments under their preview - look at what the Rajapassa brothers have in their pocket - literaly.... Just imagine the money that is involved here. Just PLUNDER .5% of the budget of each of these institutions and the Rajapassas are set for LIFE.

    While our Minister of SPECIAL PROJECTS His royal hiness Mahinda Wijesekera has NO institutions under his preview

    Among the institutions which are retained by the President are:

    * The Telecommunication Regulatory

    Authority (TRC)

    * Sri Lanka Land Reclamation and

    Development Corporation (SLRDC),

    * Land Reforms Commission (LRC)

    * The Public Enterprises Reforms Commission (PERC)

    Minister of Religious Affairs and Moral Upliftment

    *Department of Buddhist Affairs

    * Department of Christian Religious Affairs

    * Department of Hindu Religious and

    Cultural Affairs

    * Department of Muslim Religious and

    Cultural Affairs

    * Department of Public Trustee

    Minister of Defence, Public Security, Law and Order

    * Sri Lanka Army, Navy and Air Force

    * Department of Police

    * National Cadet Corps

    * Reserve Affairs Council

    * Kotalawala Defence Academy

    * National Defence Fund

    * National Intelligence Bureau

    * National Dangerous

    Drugs Control Board

    * Special Police Reserve

    * Department of Civil Security

    * Army Command and Staff College

    Ranaviru Seva Authority

    Ministry of Finance and Planning

    * General Treasury

    * Department of National Budget

    * Department of Fiscal Policy

    * Department of National Planning

    * Department of Management Services

    * Department of State Accounts

    * Department of Public Finance

    * Department of Treasury Operation

    * Department of External Resources

    * Department of Development Finance

    * Department of Public Enterprises

    * Department of Trade, Tariff and

    Investment Policy

    * Department of Census and Statistics

    * Department of Inland Revenue

    * Sri Lanka Customs

    * Department of Excise

    * Department of Valuation

    * Central Bank of Sri Lanka

    * Sri Lanka Accounting and Auditing

    Standards Monitoring Board

    * Insurance Board of Sri Lanka

    * Lady Lochore Fund

    * Strike, Riot, Civil Commotion and

    Terrorism Fund

    * Development Lotteries Board

    * National Lotteries Board

    * Bank of Ceylon

    * People`s Bank

    * National Savings Bank

    * Employees Trust Fund

    * State Mortgage and Investment Bank

    * Regional Development Banks

    * Private Sector Infrastructure

    * Development Company

    * Credit Information Bureau

    * National Development Trust Fund

    * Securities and Exchange Commission

    of Sri Lanka

    * Welfare Benefits Board

    * Department of Import

    and Export Control

    * Housing Development Finance

    Corporation Bank (HDFCB)

    * Lanka Putra Development Bank

    Nation Building and Estate

    Infrastructure Development

    * Reconstruction and Development

    Agency (RADA)

    * Secretariat of Immediate Humanitarian

    and rehabilitation needs in the North and East (SIHRAN)

    * Department of Up-Country Peasantry


    * Tsunami Housing Reconstruction

    Unit (THRU)

    * Transport and Highways Unit

    * Fisheries Housing Unit

    * Road Development Unit

    * Water and Power Supply Unit

    * Infrastructure Development Unit

    * Estate Community Housing

    Development Unit

    * Department of Commissioner-General

    of Samurdhi

    * Samurdhi Authority of Sri Lanka

    * International Centre for the Training of

    * Rural Leaders (Embilipitiya)

    * Rural Development Training and

    Research Institute

    * Gama Neguma Secretariat

    * District Planning Secretariats

    * Gemi Diriya Programme

    * Southern Development Authority

    * Regional Development Division

    * Southern Rural Economic Advancement Project

    * Revolving Credit Programme -

    Kegalle District

    * Revolving Credit Programme -

    Ratnapura District

    * NWP Dry Zone Participatory

    * Development Project

    * Integrated Rural Development Project- Moneragala

    * Matale Rural Economic Advancement


    * Enterprise Service System Promotion

    Project - Kandy

    * Moneragala Irrigation and Community

    Development Project

    * Uva Rural Economic Advancement


    * NCP Participatory Rural Development


    * Udarata Development Authority

    * Project for Maintenance Infrastructure

    for Alleviation of Rural Poverty

    * Ten Thousand Tanks Project